Skip to main content

Exchange Programs

About Erasmus Programme

The Erasmus programme is a European Union programme to encourage higher education institutions to cooperate with each other. It provides financial support for higher education institutions to produce and implement joint projects with each other and to carry out short-term student and staff exchanges. 

In addition, it also encourages increased relations and cooperation between higher education institutions and the working environment in order to develop the higher education system in accordance with the needs of the business world and to increase the employability of university graduates in the business world. 

What is the Aim of the Programme?

The aim of the programme is to improve the quality of higher education in Europe and to strengthen its European dimension. The Erasmus programme seeks to achieve this aim by promoting inter-country cooperation between universities; by enabling the mutual exchange of students and educators in Europe; by contributing to the development of academic recognition and transparency of studies and degrees obtained in the countries participating in the programme. In Europe, which offers higher quality higher education, graduates will be better equipped and more responsive to the expectations of the business world.

With the mobility opportunities it offers, the programme serves to break down the prejudices in the perception of European peoples in higher education circles. With the Erasmus programme, more than 1.5 million higher education students have spent a period of their education life in another European country since 1987 and have had the opportunity to get to know the people and culture of that country.  The programme aims for 3 million students to become Erasmus students by 2012.

Who can benefit from the programme and how?

The Erasmus programme is open to the benefit of higher education institutions in the 27 member countries of the European Union, which are included in the Lifelong Learning Programme, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, which are not members of the European Union but are members of the European Economic Area, and Turkey, which is among the candidate countries for the European Union. In all activities to be carried out within the framework of the Erasmus programme, at least one of the parties must be an institution of a European Union member country.

Students and staff of universities, institutes, academies and similar institutions, which are accepted as higher education institutions by the relevant official institutions of the countries, can benefit from the Erasmus programme if they apply to the Commission Executive Agency for Education, Audiovisiual and Culture (The Education, Audiovisiual and Culture Executive Agency - EACEA), which is the relevant unit of the Directorate General for Education and Culture of the European Commission, and are entitled to receive the Erasmus University Charter (EUC). Institutions wishing to carry out student internship mobility are required to obtain an Extended EUC.

Effective from the 2010-2011 academic year, the individuals who will benefit from the Student and Staff Mobility activities of the institutions with an EUC

Be a citizen of the Republic of Turkey or,

They must be citizens of other countries, but they must be students enrolled in a school, vocational school, higher education institution or an institution providing adult education in Turkey, or they must be working in a job or living in Turkey within the framework of the relevant laws and regulations.

For more information about the Erasmus Programme, please visit our university's European Union Office and Turkish National Agency web pages.

European Union Office

Turkish National Agency

Click here for the current Erasmus agreements in Environmental Engineering. 

About Farabi Programme

The Student and Faculty Member Exchange Programme among Higher Education Institutions, briefly called "Farabi Exchange Programme", is an exchange programme for students and faculty members among higher education institutions that provide education at associate, bachelor's, master's and doctorate levels within universities and institutes of high technology.

Farabi Exchange Programme aims to enable students or faculty members to continue their education and training activities in a higher education institution outside their own institution for one or two semesters.

The principles regarding the implementation of the Farabi Exchange Programme are detailed in the Regulation and Principles and Procedures.

Farabi (871-950)

He was born in the city of Farab in Turkestan in 871. He travelled to important scientific centres of the time such as Bukhara, Baghdad, Damascus, Cairo, Harran and Aleppo. He wrote works in the fields of philosophy, mathematics, logic, political science and music. In the Islamic world, he has a great reputation in the field of philosophy, comparable to Aristotle, who is called Muallim-i Evvel (First Teacher), and is known as Muallim-i Sani (Second Teacher). He is known as "Alpharabius" in the Western world. He died in 950 in Damascus.


Principles and Procedures

For more information;

It was approved at the meeting of the Higher Education Executive Board dated 02.11.2022 that the Farabi Exchange Programme will not be held in the 2023-2024 academic year. 

It is announced to our students.